“If I could save time in a bottle”

One of my fondest memories of growing up is staying up late in my parents basement watching/taping music videos.  You had two options; the super comfy brown plaid couch or the beige barcalounger. Being the youngest and smallest, I always chose the less comfortable barcalounger to avoid any royal rumbles.  It was a good chair but it really wasnt that comfortable.  My dad loved it for some reason. Anyway, we used to watch videos for hours. In order to get the most bang for our buck, we used to set the tape to EP and tape 6 hours of videos per tape. These tapes were watched so much, the tape eventually wore out and are now unplayable (i still have a couple taps for nostalgic purposes).

To catch a good video you had to stay up midnight (staying up until midnight was huge when you were young) and watch the latest episode of City Limits.  For those who don’t know what City Limits was, ill give you a brief history.  In the late eighties and mid nineties, Much Music aired an hour long program dedicated to “Alternative” videos. You could catch anything from the Butthole Surfers to Velocity Girl.  It was originally hosted by Christopher Ward and was later taken over by Kim Clarke Champniss.  As years went by, the show was cancelled and a similar day time show was created.  This show was called the Wedge and was hosted by Simon Evans.  During the wedge’s first few years it was on par with City Limits.  As time passed, Simon Evans moved on and the show got worse and worse. Simon left and Sook Yin came. Sookie played some decent stuff but it just wasnt as good as the older episode.  To catch one good video, you would have to sit through 5 bad videos.  If you were to catch a current episode of the wedge today, you would be lucky to catch one good video per month and im being generous by saying that.

To make a long story short, City Limits/the Wedge exposed me to some of my favourite songs to date.  You can see some videos below that changed by life below:

1 Response to ““If I could save time in a bottle””


  1. 1 Christina December 3, 2007 at 12:00 am

    I did the exact same thing! I used to tape citylimits because I was usually too tired to stay up. I remember the super cool afternoon performances during the wedge hours. I have the Juliana Hatfield one somewhere. The new wedge stinks.


Leave a comment