Year End Review

CPC GANGBANGS – Mutiliation Nation
Swami Records

cpc.jpg

The first time I saw this band was early this year on my birthday. Earlier in the night, i built one of the best excitebike courses of my life.  It’s too bad 8 bit nintendo’s didn’t have the ability to save games because let me tell you, this track could have won awards.  So here i am, on cloud 9 on my birthday hangin’ near the back of the silver dollar when i hear the most intense guitar work of my life.  I quickly rushed to the front and witness one of the best performances of the year. I asked the person next to me who these sharply dressed gentlemen were but unfortunately the response given was a beligerent attempt at flirting (no thanks). The band continued on for another 40 minutes and left me with my jaw on the floor.  I was amazed how great this band was.  A few months later, their debut long player came out and I immediately picked it up.  I’ve probably listened to this record twice a day since buying it.  Do whatever you can to get this record because it’s worth every fucking penny.

Mark Sultan – Sultanic Verses
In The Red Records

sultanm.jpg
If you’re not familiar with Mark Sultan, he’s been in tons of phenomenal bands (Mind Controls, the Spaceshits, Les Sexareenos, and of course half of the King Khan & BBQ Show).  The record was recorded in Berlin and Montreal and is jam packed with soulful rock ‘n’ roll tracks that will have you singing for days.  10 out of 10.
Stand out tracks: Beautiful Girl, Two Left Feet, unicorn rainbow odyssey

the Gaye Blades – Sexual Intercourse
Rob’s House Records

gaye-blades.jpg
I don’t like to put 45s in my top releases for the year but im going to make the exception for this record.  These two tracks have got to be the catchiest songs written to date. Theres been times where i’ve set my ipod on repeat and sat back and listened for up to an hour (both tracks total five and a half minutes).  Essential release.
Stand out tracks: Bobby is a Lover, Don’t Get Married

Black Lips – Good Bad Not Evil
Vice Records

blacklips.jpg
This band needs no introduction.  Buy this record immediately.
Stand out tracks: Good Bad Not Evil, Bad kids, Transcendental Light

Criminal Damage – No Solution
Feral Ward Records

nosolution.jpg
From start to finish, you get a blistering batch of early 80’s inspired punk tracks. Those who have hung out at my house have probably heard this record a jillion times. There’s been many times where i’ve been feeling down and out and this record has been there to pick me back up. 
Stand out tracks: No Solution, My Escape, Mudslinger

0 Responses to “Year End Review”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment